Earth Day: Embrace nature and go vegan

Standard

 

How does someone celebrate something they have known all their lives? Do you throw an earth themed party? Do you plant a tree? This year I chose to celebrate this beautiful world with food and exercise.

IMG_7681.JPG

View from Steep Canyon Trailhead. Photo by me. 

 

1. Go on a hike.

With a hike, you are able to take in all the earth has to offer. I kicked in major cardio and began my trek up Steep Canyon Trailhead to embrace my environment. I rewarded myself with an organic dinner.

2. Plan the perfect meal.

In light of recent high temperatures in Southern California, a nice cool meal perfectly complemented my hike.

Specifically in honor of Earth Day, I included chickpeas, one of mama earth’s natural and vegan sources of protein.

This brought me to a Mediterranean inspired pasta salad.

Pasta Salad:
2/3 cup chopped olives
3 cups rotini noodles
1-½ cup chickpeas

IMG_4999

Mediterranean inspired pasta salad. Photo by me.

For Lemon Vinaigrette Dressing, mix the following ingredients:
¼ Salt
½ to 1 lemon to taste
¼ cup olive oil
1 Tbsp. crushed garlic

Bring five cups of water to a boil. Then add three cups of rotini noodles. Once the noodles are cooked, drain the water. Add the olives and chickpeas. Mix all ingredients with the vinaigrette dressing. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.

Finally, choose your favorite spot on the hike, lay out a blanket, enjoy your food and love earth!

 

 

Leave a Reply

